Uncategorized

Let’s start at the very beginning

My life has taken a surprising turn over the last year and with so many life changes happening I wanted try and document it. Why? Well for many reasons. To give my children something to look back on in years to come when they would have long forgotten their very early years, to hopefully find other people going through similar life changes who may be able to relate and also to give me a outlet to share the highlights (and probably lowlights) of a time where so much is going on that the little things can easily get forgotten.

To start, here is a little bit about me. I am a newly separated mum of one. Just short of two years ago my marriage broke down and we separated. Then I fell in love with my best friend (did not see that coming!). I now live with my lovely new man and my almost three year old toddler – where did the time go?! (*sniffs*) As I said, this year has been surprising and well… speedy. We are now expecting a new baby in the spring!

Everything is getting a little crazy right now with a new little person arriving soon, an over-active and very talkative three year old, a new house to move into (second move in a year!), juggling working full time, financial implications of being a single mum and the expected complications of starting a family with another separated parent. I admit there are days when I could happily hide under the duvet but you know what, I wouldn’t give it up for the world.

I think this blog will be a random mix of brain dumps, desperate requests for advice and other general ramblings.

Please do get in touch should you have any feedback. I would love to hear from other people in a similar boat or from anyone who can relate.

Now, I am usually outspoken and a self confessed over-sharer, yet for some reason posting this first blog and putting myself out there has been a totally petrifying experience.

In all honesty, it has taken me weeks to build up the courage to start writing this first post. I have managed to spend hours ‘fannying’ around with my blog page to make it look pretty but have avoided actually taking the leap. So here goes…press the button Lorraine…press it!

Mummy and moo

3 thoughts on “Let’s start at the very beginning

Leave a Reply

